African Union

Topic a: Accessing Primary Education in Rural Areas

Topic b: Stabilizing Political Conflicts Concerning Member States and Continental Security

The African Union (AU) is a continental body consisting of the 55 member states that make up the countries of the African Continent. It was officially launched in 2002 as a successor to the Organisation of African Unity. The main objectives of the OAU were to rid the continent of the remaining vestiges of colonization and apartheid; to promote unity and solidarity amongst African States; to coordinate and intensify cooperation for development; to safeguard the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Member States and to promote international cooperation.


Accessing even primary education especially in geographically marginalized areas remains one of the major setbacks of the recently phased out MDGs(United Nations Millennium Development Goals) with its second goal dedicated to achieving universal primary education. Keeping this in mind finding the necessary fundings is a top priority issue for the UN.


The second topic will discuss resolving conflicts in Africa. While Africa accounted for only 16% of the global population in 2016, more than a third of global conflict took place there the previous year. This is not only putting millions of Africans in danger and so violating their basic human rights, but it also poses a threat to Member States.


  • This committee is advised to both intermediate and advanced-level delegates.